Be again with my wife and daughter

My name is Hussam Al Hasan. I am 24 years old and I came from Aleppo city, in Syria. I am married and I have one daughter. My family stays in the Netherlands. I have applied for family reunification and I am waiting for my documents, but it takes a lot of time. Many refugees here in Greece have done this procedure.
We are not having a good time here because we are spending our time doing nothing. Now, I am a member of “Community Space” so as to help refugees here because I can speak English and many people here in the refugee centre don’t speak English. I help with the communication between refugees and different NGOs located in the camp by translating in English.
I have been for one year in Veria’s refugee centre. Back in Syria, I wasn’t working but only studying. I was studying Biochemistry and Biology at the University of Aleppo. After that, I went to Turkey for two months. Then, I came to Greece and in the beginning, I was staying in Chios island for two months. In my everyday life in the camp, I help the NGOs with translation. Sometimes I help a lawyer, that we have here, to send the names of people who are going to have interviews, in the Asylum offices in Thessaloniki and Athens.
My only dream is to be again with my wife and daughter, and if it is possible to complete my studies as well.

Ονομάζομαι Hussam Al Hasan. Είμαι 24 ετών και κατάγομαι από την πόλη Χαλέπι της Συρίας. Είμαι παντρεμένος και έχω μια κόρη. Η οικογένειά μου μένει στην Ολλανδία. Έχω κάνει αίτηση για οικογενειακή επανένωση και περιμένω τα έγγραφα μου. Ωστόσο, αυτή η διαδικασία είναι πολύ χρονοβόρα καθώς πολύ πρόσφυγες έχουν κάνει την σχετική αίτηση.
Δεν περνάμε πολύ ωραία εδώ, διότι δεν κάνουμε σχεδόν τίποτα στην καθημερινότητά μας. Τώρα, είμαι μέλος μιας κοινότητας εδώ στο προσφυγικό κέντρο και βοηθάω τους πρόσφυγες, επειδή γνωρίζω να μιλάω αγγλικά. Αρκετοί πρόσφυγες εδώ δεν μιλούν αγγλικά. Μεταφράζοντας, βοηθάω με την επικοινωνία μεταξύ των προσφύγων και των διαφόρων ΜΚΟ που υπάρχουν στο προσφυγικό κέντρο.
Έμεινα για ένα έτος στο προσφυγικό κέντρο της Βέροιας. Στη Συρία, δεν εργαζόμουν καθώς σπούδαζα μόνο. Σπούδαζα Βιοχημεία και Βιολογία στο Πανεπιστήμιο του Χαλέπι. Στη συνέχεια, πήγα στην Τουρκία για δύο μήνες. Ύστερα, ήρθα στην Ελλάδα και στην αρχή, έμεινα στη Χίο για δύο μήνες. Στην καθημερινότητά μου εδώ, βοηθάω τις ΜΚΟ κάνοντας μετάφραση. Μερικές φορές, βοηθάω έναν δικηγόρο που βρίσκεται εδώ, να στείλει τα ονόματα των συνεντευξιαζόμενων, στα γραφεία του Ασύλου στην Θεσσαλονίκη και την Αθήνα.
Το μοναδικό όνειρό μου είναι να βρεθώ ξανά με την γυναίκα και την κόρη μου και αν είναι εφικτό να ολοκληρώσω τις σπουδές μου.

Dublin Core: Language: en, el Subject: Greece, Syria, refugee, A Million Stories