“Mum, why isn’t our dad here?”

Hello! I am 27 years old and I came from Syria alone with my three children. The youngest of my children is 6 months old and the oldest one is 5 years old. I was completely alone when I came from Syria until I arrived in Greece. In the beginning, I stayed in Idomeni and later, I came here, in Veria’s refugee centre. I have been in Greece for about two years. The whole journey was very difficult for me, as I was alone and I had my children with me who are very young. When I first came to the refugee centre I was alone and some time is needed until you get to know someone. My husband is in Germany and he can’t visit us here, in Greece. My children always ask me: “Mum, why isn’t our dad here? The other kids have their dads.”.
Our everyday life is simple. My children will wake up and then, they will eat breakfast. The younger ones will go to the nursery school, here in the refugee centre and the oldest will go to a greek school in the city of Veria. Since the kids have gone to school, I spend my time gathering with other women so as to drink our coffee and discuss. I have some friends now. I would like to thank the NGO “NRC” very much because they have helped me so much with my children and they have provided us with a house here, in Veria’s refugee centre. This place is very beautiful. There is a lake and nature is wonderful in Veria.
In my everyday life, I like cleaning the house and cooking my children’s favourite dish, which is called molokhia. It consists of molokhia leaves and rice. Additionally, I sometimes make desserts. My friends here usually consult me for recipes. There are times that I take part in various events and activities that the NGOs organize here, in the refugee centre (e.g. English courses) and we thank them very much for their help.
As for the future, I want to be reunited with my family and I want my children to be reunited with their father. In this way, I will feel better.


Γειά σας! Είμαι 27 ετών και ήρθα από την Συρία μόνη με τα τρία παιδιά μου. Το πιο μικρό είναι έξι μηνών και το πιο μεγάλο είναι πέντε ετών. Ήμουν εντελώς μόνη από την Συρία, ώσπου έφτασα στην Ελλάδα. Στην αρχή, έμεινα στην Ειδομένη και αργότερα ήρθα εδώ, στο προσφυγικό κέντρο της Βέροιας. Είμαι σχεδόν δυο χρόνια στην Ελλάδα. Όλο το ταξίδι ήταν πολύ δύσκολο για μένα, διότι είμαι γυναίκα μόνη αλλά είχα και τα παιδιά μου μαζί, που είναι τόσο μικρά. Όταν πρωτοήρθα στο προσφυγικό κέντρο ήμουν μόνη και ώσπου να γνωρίσεις κόσμο, θέλει κάποιο χρόνο. Ο σύζυγός μου είναι στην Γερμανία και δεν μπορεί να μας επισκεφθεί εδώ, στην Ελλάδα. Τα παιδιά μου κάθε φορά με ρωτάνε: “Μαμά, γιατί δεν είναι ο μπαμπάς μας εδώ; Τα άλλα παιδιά τον έχουν.”.
Η καθημερινότητα μας είναι απλή. Τα παιδιά θα ξυπνήσουν και θα φάνε. Τα μικρά θα πάνε στο παιδικό σταθμό, εδώ στο προσφυγικό κέντρο και το μεγάλο θα πάει σε ελληνικό σχολείο στη πόλη της Βέροιας. Έπειτα, αφού έχω τακτοποιήσει τα παιδιά και έχω χρόνο, μαζευόμαστε κάποιες γυναίκες για να πιούμε καφέ και να συζητήσουμε. Έχω κάποιες φίλες τώρα. Ευχαριστώ πάρα πολύ την ΜΚΟ «NRC», διότι με έχει βοηθήσει πάρα πολύ με τα παιδιά μου και για να έχω ένα σπίτι εδώ, στο προσφυγικό κέντρο της Βέροιας. Το μέρος είναι πάρα πολύ ωραίο. Έχει μια πολύ ωραία λίμνη και η φύση είναι υπέροχη στην Βέροια.
Στην καθημερινότητά μου, μου αρέσει να τακτοποιώ το σπίτι μου και να μαγειρεύω το αγαπημένο φαγητό των παιδιών μου, που λέγεται μολοχία. Είναι χόρτα με ρύζι. Επίσης, κάποιες φορές κάνω και γλυκά. Συνήθως, οι φίλες μου εδώ με συμβουλεύονται για τις συνταγές. Κάποιες φορές, συμμετέχω και σε διάφορες εκδηλώσεις και δράσεις που γίνονται από τις ΜΚΟ εδώ, στο προσφυγικό κέντρο (π.χ. μαθήματα αγγλικών) και τους ευχαριστούμε πάρα πολύ που μας βοηθούν.
Για το μέλλον, θέλω να ξανά ενωθεί η οικογένειά μου και να βρεθούν τα παιδιά μου με τον πατέρα τους. Έτσι, θα μπορέσω και εγώ να νιώσω καλύτερα.

Dublin Core: Language: en, el Subject: Greece, Syria, refugee, A Million Stories